Skip to main content

Locking Accounts

Removing all full access keys from an account will effectively lock it.

When an account is locked nobody can perform transactions in the account's name (e.g. update the code or transfer money).

How to Lock an Account​

near keys <dev-account>
# result: [access_key: {"nonce": ..., "public_key": '<key>'}]

near delete-key <dev-account> '<key>'

Why Locking an Account​

Locking an account brings more reassurance to end-users, since they know no external actor will be able to manipulate the account's contract or balance.

Upgrading Locked Contracts

Please do note that, while no external actor can update the contract, the contract can still upgrade itself. See this article for details.